Saturday July 21, 2018

Al Aqili Ramadan T20 to open ADCC season

Posted Mon 17 Jun 2013 12:46:22 pm in News, Sports | By News Desk

Please click to enlarge the image.
Click on image to enlarge it.


17 June 2013

Grand Midwest and Corinche Beach Club set to make debut Sixteen days. That is how short the close season has become when it comes to cricket in Abu Dhabi. What once was a longer break between the season gone by and the new season to come, has shrunk. But the cricketing fraternity isn’t complaining.

The short break means more cricket, more games, possibly more tournaments and more opporunities for cricketers to parade their wares. And that can only be good news. Even as the 2012-2013 season ended on June 2 with Abu Dhabi heavyweights William Hare Abu Dhabi Gymkhana landing the spoils in the Al Qantara Twenty20 Trophy, the 2013-2014 season will be up and running with the Al Aqili Ramadan Twenty20 Trophy from Wednesday.

Into its fourth edition, the Al Aqili Ramadan Twenty20 Trophy is the Abu Dhabi Cricket Council’s (ADCC) season opener and will be played at the Shaikh Zayed International Cricket Stadium.

Twenty teams are in the fray which includes two debutants—Grand Midwest and Corinche Beach Club. It will be a Twenty20 tournament and 20 teams including two debutants have entered the annual event. Dubai’s Phoenix Medicine are the defending champions. They had defeated Ibsons by three wickets in last year’s final.

“It will be played under lights with one match each evening. And from the first day of Ramadan, two games will be worked off,” Wajahat Husain, President of the Abu Dhabi Cricket Council (ADCC), said.

“We thought of starting the season early and to finish early so that we can manage the existing ADCC calendar smoothly,” he added.

“We barely finished the 2012-13 season and we are already to the new season. I’m looking forward to the new season,” said David East, CEO of both the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) and the Abu Dhabi Cricket Club. Al Aqili Group Board members Rashed Al Aqili and Nader Al Aqili, too were present during the announcement of the tournament. Rashed Al Aqili said that might probably field a team from next season.

The 20 teams have been divided into four groups. The teams will play their group matches in a round-robin league format and the top two teams will advance to the knockout stage. Overseas players are also allowed to participate without any restrictions to enhance the competitiveness of the tournament. However, to qualify to play in the final, a player must have played at least one match before the final.

The winners will be richer by Dh 20,000 with the runners-up getting Dh 12,000. There are also individual prizes including Man of the Match awards for all the matches along with prizes for Best Batsman, Best Bowler, and Man of the Tournament.


Previous story: